Synapse Support Forums  

Go Back   Synapse Support Forums > Synapse > Support Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:18 AM
mgg1010 mgg1010 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default Intercept Errors with SNAPconnect

Hi

I have a snapconnect script running. I connect portal to the network via this script. But when I do this, intecept stdio feature fails to produce any output. If I connect portal directly with serial, it works.

How can I display internal python error messages from nodes either in the log of my snapconnect script, or in portal log when connected via snapconnect?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2012, 12:50 PM
jasonharper jasonharper is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 230
Default

Are your Portal and SNAPconnect both set to the default address of 000001, by any chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2012, 05:34 PM
Jheath's Avatar
Jheath Jheath is offline
Synapse Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 2,809
Default

Jason makes a good point about same SNAP Address.

May I ask what you mean (ie what step's you have taken) when you say...
Quote:
I connect portal to the network via this script
Are you Attempting a 'remote connection' through Potal's connection dialog?

One silly question -are both devices using the same channel and NetID?
__________________

Proven Solutions for the Internet of Everything
www.synapse-wireless.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:38 AM
mgg1010 mgg1010 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks guys

1. I connect portal via the SnapConnect script by using the "remote connection" feature and entering 127.0.0.1 - localhost. This way portal
connects to snap within the snapconnect script

My network

portal -> snapconnect - serial -> EN171 -> radio -> other devices

2. re: addresses. SnapConnect scripts default to a different address. There is definitely a problem if you have two portals with default - I had
that and fixed it.

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:27 AM
Jheath's Avatar
Jheath Jheath is offline
Synapse Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 2,809
Default

Just to confirm: Same setup works when you use Portal to connect to the SN171 directly, but not when you connect using a "remote connection" to the localhost IP address?
__________________

Proven Solutions for the Internet of Everything
www.synapse-wireless.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:40 PM
mgg1010 mgg1010 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

That's correct.

When I connect via local network I cannot use "intercept Stdio"
and I cannot see any error messages from the remote nodes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2012, 10:39 PM
Jheath's Avatar
Jheath Jheath is offline
Synapse Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 2,809
Default

Do you have a node you could use as a sniffer? It would be interesting to see if your debug messages are getting out into the air.


You can also redirect the stdio and stderr by using uniconnects in your script (this is what Portal does in the background)
Simply add...

Code:
uniConnect(3,4)
uniConnect(3,5)
unicastSerial(destAddr)
...to either your startup function or another function you can call remotely.
__________________

Proven Solutions for the Internet of Everything
www.synapse-wireless.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, intercept, snapconnect

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.